The shortlist for the award “NOSE”: 10 actual books

Literary award “NOS” (“New literature”) – the only prize of the jury which discusses their choices in public. Do it every year on the first day of the Krasnoyarsk fair of book culture. This time the jury members and experts selected the 10 best, in their opinion, modern novels.

Two hours of discussion and fierce debate, the jury (chaired by Anna Narinsky critic, translator Agnieszka Piotrowska, scholar Tatiana Venediktova, theater critic Marina Davydova) and the Council of experts (critics Yury Saprykin Konstantin Bogdanov, Lev Oborin) – and a short list of the prize ready. So, for the title of “New literature” in 2018 claim 10 books.

The birthplace of elephants. Denis Gorelov

Stories. Natalia Meshchaniniv

Memory memory. Maria Stepanova

We were stolen. The history of crimes. Lyudmila Petrushevskaya

iPhuck 10. Victor Pelevin

Calcina-Malacina. Evgeniya Nekrasova

Round. Anna Nemzer

Opens inward. Ksenia Buksha

Things and use. Alla Gorbunova

Moabit Chronicles. Yuri Leiderman

The award “NOSE” is awarded by the Mikhail Prokhorov Foundation since 2009 and supports contemporary art literature in Russian. In 2017, the award was won by Roman “Manaraga” Vladimir Sorokin. In 2016 the winner of the “Nose” became Mr. LEGO and his “Twilight stories”. In 2015 the main prize was taken by the believer Danila Zaitsev for the book of memoirs “the Story and life of Daniel A. Zaitseva”. In 2014 the prize went to Alexei Tsvetkov, Jr. and his book “king of the drowned”. The winner of 2013 was Andrei Ivanov’s novel “Harbin moths”. In 2012 the award was won by Lev Rubinstein with the book “Signs of attention”, in 2011 – Igor Vishnevetsky with the book “Leningrad”, in 2010 – Vladimir Sorokin and “the Snowstorm”. In the very first year of existence of the “nos” prize was awarded to the novel “Stone maples” Lena Eltang.